SPAM Alert: Preferred Domain Availability Notice
By TheWorldNow
Spam Email Situation
For months I've been getting emails from a guy named Alex saying that he has a domain similar to the one I have. He says "This domain might be useful for you, since you own a domain similar to this domain."
He keeps sending me these emails from different email addresses and apparently the only way I can opt out is by clicking on his link and searching the site for a while. I did this at least twice and I keep getting at least 2, sometimes 6 or 7 emails a day.
On one occasion when I told him I was going to report him I got a reply from transactions@intrustdomains.com saying that I have been removed and it may take up to 24 hours for the removal to go into effect. That was a few days ago and I've continued to get emails from him.
He always signs with a different address too. Below are all of the ones he has signed with.
All of the email addresses he sent me these from are below as well.
A copy of the email I got today is also below:
Emails Used to Send Spam
alex@mydevgroup.com
alex@icelandicvolcano.com
alex@ergonomieweb.com
alex@greenbuildersllc.com
alex@hailinspection.com
alex@memorybanker.com
alex@train4best.com
alex@shamancoach.com
alex@oboronservice.com
alex@chess-puzzles.com
alex@banjz.com
alex@guitardome.com
alex@ryanlocke.com
alex@seattleremodels.com
Addresses Used in Signature
6660 Delmonico Drive, Suite 415 Colorado Springs, CO 80919
330 Franklin Road #135A
Suite 186
Brentwood, TN 37027
3355 N. Academy Blvd., Unit #253
Colorado Springs, CO 80917
2020 Fieldstone Pkwy Ste 900-125 Franklin, TN 37069-4337
PO Box 26125
Colorado Springs, CO 80936
1187 Coast Village Road Suite 1-163, Montecito, CA
718 Thompson Lane
Suite 108142
Nashville, TN 37204
Copy of one of the spam emails I got
---
Preferred Domain Availability Notice:
2012prophecy.com will be listed for auction in a few days. This domain might be useful for you, since you own a domain similar to this domain.
To confirm interest in owning this domain, fill out the simple form here: 2012prophecy.com
Sincerely,Alexander
6660 Delmonico Drive, Suite 415 Colorado Springs, CO 80919
If you do not want more of these messages, please click the link above and follow instructions at the bottom of the page
Rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the rights of the individual. Thomas Jefferson
---
I have sent almost exactly what I've written here to the Better Business Bureau because I've seen other accounts of this guy spamming so I know it's not just me. Let's hope they can deal with this!
Comments
I have Gmail too, but because he is sending messages from many different domains and includes a random quote at the bottom the spam filter captures less than 50% of all his emails.
Dear Administrator,
I write to report this mail: abdoulissouf@gmail.com it is a fraudulent email address, please kindly block it from sending mails or receiving mails from people.Try to do so to save many soul from been a victim of fraud.Thanks
Smith moore
I understand your frustration, as I, too, am being victimized by this scam.
But, the WORST thing you could have done was to respond to the email in any way, form or fashion.
There isn't an actual person reading the responses. Your response or lack thereof is being monitored by bots. If you respond in any way, then all you have done is simply confirmed for the bots that your email address is, indeed, a working email address. That puts you on their list for even MORE targeting, as now you have confirmed for them that you exist at that email address.
The best thing you can do is ignore them, train your spam catcher to block the emails, post online to keep your fellow victims apprised of what has transpired in your situation and post any information from any investigation you've done on your own.
If you feel sufficiently victimized, then you should report them to the authorities.
But, by all means, NEVER respond to the email. There is no one reading the emails to get your threats or feelings of frustration.
You just made your email address even more valuable to them, and when they sell THEIR list of email addresses to someone else - and they will - then you just made them MORE money because your email address has now been proven to be a valid one and that makes your address more valuable to them and to someone else who is paying for it.
Hope this helps you and many others.
Also, to Mr. Smith Moore, my heart goes out to you, too, and I hate to have to tell you that sending a complaint to this website (the worldnow.hubpages.com) doesn't do anything to help you.
This website has nothing to do with the people who are spamming you and have no ability at all to assist you. I'm sure they would if they could, but this is just a website blog page.
Also, it appears that they, too, have been victimized by this scam, so they are in the same boat as you.
I don't say this to discourage you, but just to let you know that if you want to report the spammers, you need to direct your request to the proper authorities.
Best wishes to you.
viking305 3 months ago
That must be very annoying for you. What email provider have you?
I use Gmail and if I have this trouble they have a button where I can mark it as spam. It does not always work the first time but eventually these type of emails go straight in to my Spam box.
Some other email providers have a button where you can BLOCK certain email addresses from your account. But if this spammer is using so many different ones it would take a while.
Good luck I hope you get it sorted soon